UK Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab has imposed sanctions against three Myanmar (formerly Burma) military generals after coup.

The sanctions are in response to involvement in serious human rights violations during a coup that took place on 1 February.

The UK Government said that Myanmar’s military and police have violated a range of fundamental rights to freedom.

The three individuals are Minister of Defence general Mya Tun Oo, Home Affairs Minister lieutenant general Soe Htut and Deputy Home Affairs Minister lieutenant general Than Hlaing.

It will also freeze the assets of the three generals and they will be banned from travelling to the UK.

Dominic Raab said: “The UK condemns the military coup and the arbitrary detention of Aung San Suu Kyi and other political figures.

“We, alongside our international allies will hold the Myanmar military to account for their violations of human rights and pursue justice for the Myanmar people.”

In addition to the sanctions, measures are being implemented to stop UK aid to indirectly support the military-led government.

Moreover, the Foreign Office and Department for International Trade has undertaken an improved due diligence process to reduce the flow of illegal money.

Meanwhile, Canada said it will impose sanctions on nine military officials.

Last week, US President Biden’s administration imposed sanctions on ten current and former Myanmar military officials.