The UN Security Council has unanimously approved imposing an arms embargo, part of the broader UN resolution 1970, against Libya.

The permanent security council members of China, France, Russia, UK and the US along with council members of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Colombia, Gabon, Germany, India, Lebanon, Nigeria, Portugal and South Africa backed the motion.

According to the terms of the embargo, Libya is barred from exporting arms, defence equipment and all types of related material, including weapons and ammunition.

The EU also has announced restrictive measures against Libya, which includes an arms embargo and a travel ban.

The US had also announced an asset freeze of $30bn in the Government of Libya under US jurisdiction.