Russia has completed the creation of four unified strategic commands to replace four military districts, Defence Minister Anatoly Serdyukov has said.

The new command system is part of Russia’s military reform and has been completed ahead of the scheduled date of 1 December 2010, according to RIA Novosti.

Command West, headquartered in Moscow, will control all military personnel and hardware in the western military district, which will incorporate the former Moscow and Leningrad military districts as well as the Baltic and Northern Fleets.

Command South, with headquarters in Rostov, will be in charge of the southern military district, which will include the former North Caucasian military district and the Black Sea Fleet and Caspian Flotilla.

Command Centre, based in Yekaterinburg, will control the central military district, including the former Volga-Urals military district and the western part of the Siberian military district.

Command East, with headquarters in Khabarovsk, will command the Pacific Fleet, the far eastern military district and the larger part of the Siberian military district.